creativity filler graphic

Worcester State Theatre Students and Faculty Recognized at KCACTF

February 4, 2013
By: WSU News

Worcester State Theatre students, faculty, and staff returned from the Kennedy Center American College Theatre Festival, Region 1 with merit awards and recognition for their theater work.

Thirteen students attended KCACTF in Hyannis from Jan. 29 to Feb. 3: Christine Begin, Edikan Brown, Robby Dookhran, Maggie Chestna, Kacie Clinton, Matthew Cunsolo, Matt Gray, David Higginbottom, John Karwaski, Denise LaRoche, Nicole Marchand, Tasha Matthews, and Sara Penniman. VPA faculty John Hood, Adam Zahler, Susan Johnson-Hood (Costume Design), and Nathan Lee (Technical Direction) accompanied the students.

Dookhran made it to the final round of the lighting design entries. Dookhran, Higginbottom, and Caitlyn MacKenna (who did not attend) all received merit awards for Outstanding First Time Team for their design work on last year’s play The Weir.

An additional merit award for Creativity and Unity of Production Elements was given to the staff, cast, and crew of last year’s Dead Man’s Cell Phone.

Adam Zahler, who has served as chair of directing since 2011, received recognition for Outstanding Service to the Region. In addition to overseeing the directing program during the week, he taught a directing workshop, Flow of Action: Blocking that Tells the Story.

Leave a Comment

See for yourself what #woolife is all about.

The best way to learn about Worcester State University is to tour our beautiful campus. Be sure to let your student tour guide know your interests so they can personalize your tour.

See the tour schedule